18th International Lahti Poster Biennial 2011

10 June - 25 September 2011
Lahti Art Museum | Poster Museum

A new record was made in the number of entries offered for the Lahti 2011 Poster Biennial. As many as 6 958 posters (compared with ca. 2 600 in 2009) from 50 countries (49 in 2009) were submitted for the exhibition. For the first time in the history of the event, the submissions were sent as digital files to Lahti Art Museum. A national jury selected the works to be displayed from among the digital entries offered for the exhibition. The members of the national jury were the graphic designers Pekka Loiri, Hilppa Hyrkäs, Esa Ojala and Kari Piippo.

Nearly 300 posters from 36 countries will be on show in the 18th International Lahti Poster Biennial. Especially China, Poland, Germany and Iran are strongly represented in the exhibition. New participating countries in the Lahti Poster Biennial include Indonesia and Thailand. As in the previous exhibitions, there are two categories in the biennial, one for cultural posters, social and commercial posters and another one for environmental posters. The prizes will be distributed in connection with the Opening Ceremony of the exhibition on Thursday 9 June.

The prizes were awarded by a distinguished international jury. The members of the International Jury are Stephan Bundi from Switzerland, Gitte Kath from Denmark, Germán Montalvo from Mexico, Pekka Piippo from Finland and Péter Pócs from Hungary.

Posters designed at a workshop by the graphic design students of the Aalto University School of Art and Design and Lahti University of Applied Sciences, Institute of Design will be on view on shop windows in the city centre of Lahti in summer.

A commemorative poster exhibition to honour Professor Tapani Aartomaa (1934 - 2009) will be on view in the Sibelius Hall in Lahti from 30 June to 31 July 2011. The exhibition was first displayed in connection with the International Poster Biennial Mexico 2010 in the Puebla City Congress Palace. The Chairman of Mexico Poster Biennial, Xavier Bermudez, Professor Marjatta Itkonen and graphic designer Pekka Loiri were responsible for the arrangements of the exhibition.

The emblematic poster for the 18th International Lahti Poster Biennial was designed by Laura Suuronen.

The prize winning posters 2011 >>


Grand Prix (3 500 €)
Grafia Prix (3 000 €)
2nd Prize (1 700 €)
Environmental Posters, Lauri Tarasti Prize (3 000 €)
Certificates of Honour