The Ski Museum

The Ski Museum is at the foot of the ski-jump ramps at the Lahti Sports Centre. Museum activities were launched in 1958 by the veterans' section of the Lahden Hiihtoseura skiing club. The museum was founded in 1974 and the first permanent exhibition was opened in the old sauna of the club. The present museum building, designed by the architect Esko Hämäläinen, was opened to the public on 1 November 1989. The present renovated façade of the building, combining slanting walls, wood and glass, was designed by Professor Pekka Salminen and was completed in 2000.

The museum's permanent exhibition presents the history of skis and skiing and Finnish achievements in winter sports at the Lahti world championships and other events. One of the most enjoyable attractions of the museum is ski-jump simulator with which visitors can safely see what it feels like to jump from the large ramp at Lahti. The museum also offers a rifle and pistol shooting range, a downhill skiing simulator and an indoor skiing track. The video kiosk sells recordings of high points in Finnish winter sports. Temporary exhibitions are on display in the upper-floor room and gallery of the Ski Museum.

Address: Lahti Sports Centre, Salpausselänkatu 8, PL 113, 15111 Lahti
Open: Mon. - Fri. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m., Sat. - Sun. 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Entrance: Adults € 5, groups of over 10 persons € 3 / person, children under 17 € 2, children from day-care centres and schools €1/person.
Guided tours: By previous appointment for groups of 11-40 persons, during the museum's opening hours € 40, groups of schoolchildren and students € 20. Outside museum hours €60, groups of schoolchildren and students € 30.
Enquiries: Tel. (03) 814 4523, fax: (03) 814 4525, e-mail: museo(at)lahti.fi
Further information: There is a shop in the museum.